How to Cope with Grief

Do you know what the five stages of grief and loss are?

  1. Denial and isolation
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance.

Not everyone feels every single stage, nor does it go in order.

To mourn can be a response to one’s terminal illness, the loss of a close relationship, or to the death of a valued being, human, or animal.

It’s okay to feel what you are feeling. It won’t last forever.


Here are seven ways to help cope:

  1. Awkward attempts from friends to console you may happen and thank them and let them know it’s natural to feel the way you do.
  2. Self-care is essential, so go for a walk, eat healthily, and get a good night’s rest.
  3. Focus on the good things around you.
  4. Understand your limits and know its okay to take breaks when needed. But return to the task as many times as is necessary to complete it.
  5. Sometimes helping others will help you. Try volunteering for something you feel passionate about to occupy your time.
  6. Need more support? Join a grieving support group to know you are not alone in this.
  7. The most important part of all the steps is to remember to be kind and love yourself.


Feeling Grief Means Being Alive: 7 Tips to Help


By SSBH Staff